Skip to content

How it all Began…

June 21, 2010

Well, I suppose I should explain how this really all began.

I had been engaged in a series of informal debates with P (see my A bit about Me section for explanation on P), over some of the basic differences between Protestant and Catholic theologies. The most obvious difference, and the first one that anyone seems to think of, is justification. Protestants: J by faith; Catholics: J by works. Right? Well, no. Here and here are explanations of sorts on RCC J.

That was bubble burst #1. And once I realized that Catholics do not really believe in J by works, and that their views on J could have Scriptural foundations, I began to go down a veritable roller coaster of disillusionment. Things really hit a crumbling point when I  reflected on the brokenness and disunity of the modern Christian church in its many thousands of denominations and virtual theological anarchism. Stanley Hauerwas explains it well enough here, from a Protestant point of view. I had never thought of the diversity of theologies espoused by professing Christians to be a problem really…just a consequence of living in a fallen world. Perhaps that is really all it is. After all, it is completely warranted to see how we imperfectly follow the perfectly leading Holy Spirit. But perhaps we’re missing something. Perhaps we’re missing God’s promise that His Spirit will lead us into all truth (John 16:13) And then, I read this eye-opener by Bryan Cross.

Then almost all my bubbles burst.

I do not remember in what order the rest of my questions came, or if there was an order, or simply a flood. But they came. They have certainly been checked by my reformed understanding of Scripture, and I still consider reformed theology to be quite beautiful and legitimate. However, unlike before, I am now considering Catholic theology to possibly be legitimate instead.

I suppose I would still claim to be reformed. But my heart is quite heavy as a reformed believer. I do not believe I can just shake it off either. So, here I am on this road, this roller coaster. It began with a growing understanding of what RCC faith really was. Who knows where it will end.

No comments yet

Leave a comment